Skip To Navigation Exiting Navigation
Hand holding a pen writing on a clipboard.
Content

Welcome to the Duval County Tax Collector's Office. Below you’ll find everything you need to know about driver license and ID services.

Driver's License & ID Services

Important Note: As of August 1, 2025, individuals who are under 18 years old and have never held a driver license from any other state, country or jurisdiction must complete a 6-hour DETS course before applying for a license in Florida. Driver Education Licensing Assistance Program (DELAP) courses offered by some county school boards may substitute for this requirement. For additional information, please visit Driver Education Traffic Safety (DETS) - Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles

On This Page

Services Offered

ID Requirements/REAL ID

Name & Address Changes

Testing Requirements

Fees & Customer Support

1. Services Offered

Driving Skills Exams (Road Tests)

Locations Offering Road Tests:

  • Soutel
  • Westside
  • St. Johns Square
  • Roosevelt
  • Mandarin
  • Neptune Beach

Schedule:

  • Days Offered: Tuesday–Thursday
  • Hours: 8:30 a.m. – 3:30 p.m.
  • Not available: Mondays or Fridays

Important Notes:

  • Walk-in only (no appointments)
  • Bring the following:
    • Learner’s permit (if applicable)
    • Proof of insurance
    • Vehicle registration

Property Tax & Local Business Tax Payments

Accepted at all branches

A $6.25 service fee applies to all driver license transactions, including renewals, replacements, and exams.

2. ID Requirements & REAL ID Compliance

Florida complies with the REAL ID Act, which requires specific identifying documents to issue a driver license or ID card.

A. Primary Identification 

Examples: Birth Certificate, Passport, Certificate of Naturalization, or Certificate of Citizen

B. Proof of Social security 

Examples: Social Security Card, W-2 Form, Pay check/stub or Any 1099

C. Proof of Residential Address

Examples: Household Information Documents, Medical or Health Card and/or Bill

Check the most current list of required documents on the FLHSMV What to Bring page.

3. Name & Address Changes

Name and Address Changes:

  • Name changes must be completed in person at one of our offices.
  • Address changes may be completed online via the MyDMV Portal or in person.
  • Bring the required legal documents listed on the FLHSMV website.

Name Change – U.S. Citizens

  1. Update your name with the Social Security Administration (SSA)first.
    • The name must match exactly.
    • Paper SSA confirmation is not accepted.
    • Wait at least two business days before visiting our office.
  2. Bring one original or certified copy of the following:
    • Marriage Certificate*
    • Court Order*
    • Naturalization Papers*
    • Divorce Decree*
    • U.S. Passport

*Documents must link your current name to the name on your primary identification.

Non‑U.S. Citizens

Requirements and acceptable documents can be found on the FLHSMV website.

4. Testing Requirements

Under Florida Statute 322.56(3)(b) and (e)

  • If you pass the Class E Knowledge or Skills Exam through a Third‑Party administrator, you may be randomly selected for a mandatory re‑test at a Tax Collector’s office.
  • If you pass the re-test, your license will be issued.
  • If you fail, a re-exam fee will be required at your next*attempt.

5. Fees & Customer Support

Driver License Fees
All Florida Tax Collectors charge an additional $6.25 service fee for all driver license services.
A full list of fees is available on the FLHSMV website.

Customer Support
Need help? Call our customer service center at (904) 255‑5700.

Please Note
Due to the Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA), we cannot discuss specific driving record details over the phone.

You may:
• Visit www.flhsmv.gov
• Visit one of our offices in person

FLHSMV may also be reached at (850) 617‑2000.